CNY Day 2

9 03 2007

The second day of CNY is to collect red packets from mother’s side. This is a much bigger family than father’s side, and the noise is just uncontrolable! My cousins here are a talkative bunch. Grandpa always have reunion lunch at Ee Tong Restaurant at Zoo Road, Air Itam. The food here is pretty good, only if you go for their rice & side dishes and not their 8 course menu. Lunch on day 2 was dissapointing, needless to say. Still, grandpa insists to return every year on CNY! *sigh*

Yee sang

Yee sang – I had one spoonful, and that’s it! It was disgusting. The raw fish smell bad. My tham jiak cousins somehow can finish up their plates. Yer~

Four season

Four season – the best dish on this 8 course.

Fish

No comment on the fish. Sweet sourish, very normal.

The commotion being experienced at this table (the kids here, the adults at another table) was compared to the Hungry Ghost festival by my 15-year-old cousin sister. It’s so true! Eating at the table with them is a sick sight. They have unbelievably quick hands, gobbling up everything before the dish reaches my side. One or couple of times, I had to join in to grab something I like. And I stop taking pictures at that point, since I couldn’t snap a photo of the dish before it’s disturbed or the plate becomes empty in seconds. Towards the end, I pretty much just sat back and giggled at the antics of my cousins.

Tong sui

After the unsatisfying lunch, we went back to grandparents’ apartment. Grandma had cooked up snow fungus tong sui. Yum! I had 3 bowls :3

Manhattan counter

In the evening, my cousin who made that interestingly sensible analogy, my sister and I went to Queensbay Mall to watch Ghost Rider. As expected, the crowd was huge on CNY. We couldn’t get any seats, so we window shopped until tummy calls for food and decided to go for Manhattan Fish Market. Again, huge crowd at dinner time. So, service was quite poor and some freshie waiters/waitresses just pretend to be busy.

Manhattan condiments

Each table gets this set of condiments; mayonnaise, garlic and sweet chili sauce with a hint of lemon (or maybe lime). We ordered Flaming Platter for One to be shared among 3 of us :P

Manhattan flame

This waiter was trying to act cool while flaming up the prawns, but he was kinda clumsy. Keke. Ooh, I was hoping the flame caught his pants, at his crotch :o

Manhattan grill

Price: RM 20-ish

Heavenly: Butter rice
Skyly: Fries
Earthly: Grilled catch of the day (dory I presume)
Hell-ly: Flaming prawns

I am infatuated with their butter rice! It is so delicious and fragant! I tried butter rice before, but this is beyond magnifyingly uber yummy. The fries are good too, thick and not very oily. The fish is just okay. It needs the mayonnaise to bring out the taste. I thought the flaming prawns are the star considering that the platter is named after it. However, the prawns are small sized and there’s not much flesh.

Manhattan Alabama

Price: RM 7.90

For drinks, cousin had the Sweet Alabama smoothie, which is chocolate and peanut butter(?? Haha. Or how does the drink attain that peanuty taste?) topped with whipped cream (although the menu says vanilla ice-cream). It was good, better than my Manhattan Mocha…

Manhattan Mocha #1

Manhattan Mocha #2

which comes in fashionably-pretty-layers-i-dun-wanna-destroy-it appearance. After the first sip, heck, it’s probably just chocolate sauce, Fernleaf and kopi cap Kapal Api. I should have ordered their cakey dessert instead.

Price: RM 5.90

Manhattan sign

Manhattan Fish Market = crap pot! Hehe.

The first MFM I saw was in Midvalley many years ago. The outlet is much bigger and has been decorated like the interior of a ship. The aisle is wider which provides better access. In Queensbay, it’s like eating in a cubicle. I felt as though there’s not many dishes to choose from in their menu. But actually, there is quite a variety. Only thing is that, none of the dishes really strikes me, and the price does not justify the serving size. Just my opinion. I hope someday there’s a MFM spinoff serving their delectable butter rice :3

Actions

Information

3 responses

14 03 2007
Jian

Hahaha had that with Serene b4….it was super oily….we ordered another one forgot the name d….anyway, that will be the last place in my mind to have a meal….\

Hey interested in having a meal at Jelutong Market at night? I like the Mat Dou Loe there…lolz clean shop and u can bring in any food from outside…lolz…got to know the place from serene’s fren….

10 08 2013
Pillowsac

You should take part in a contest for one of the
greatest sites on the web. I’m going to recommend this site!

10 08 2013
debts consolidate

My brother suggested I may like this blog. He used to
be entirely right. This publish truly made my day.
You can not imagine simply how so much time I had spent for this information!
Thanks!

Leave a Reply

