1 Week Penang

17 08 2007

Been MIA for sometime because I was back in hometown for almost a week. I return to KL with my parents as they drove down here for a 3 days vacation. Attended 2 days of classes, then followed them for their next 3 days of holiday in Malacca :P When I return to uni, I was tossed a series of tests and a pile of assignmments. Aih… ;)

Before I write about my Malacca trip, a brief post from balik kampung trip. I had lots of home cooked food, so there aren’t much to blog about n.n

Agreed to treat Jian and she suggested Paddington House of Pancakes to make use of her mobile voucher for a BUY 1 FREE 1 Paddington pancakes. Headed to Queensbay Mall with a growling tummy. Ordered the Mexican Double Burger (RM25.50) since I’ve never tried it and Jian says its good.

Paddington - Mexican Burger #1

Double beef patties with pineapple rings, grilled capsicum slices and cheese…! Plus guacamole, lettuce, tomato and fries on the side. The chunky gravy is weird (like starch with seasoning) but the beef patties is packed with beefy taste. Overall, it’s absolutely delicious.

Paddington - Mexican Burger #2

I am humongous… mwahahaha

Paddington - American coconut

For the free pancake, we had the American pancake with peaches, Hawaiian coconut, nuts and ice cream (RM11.50). Quite disappointed with it. The dessicated coconut tastes fake, only three miserable blueberries in the plate and a slob of butter looks like it was haplessly thrown. Jian wanted to take mouth watering dessert photos for her mag cover assignment but the presentation was a let down :(

The bill came to RM40 for the 2 plates of pancake and a tall glass of Fizzy Mango & Orange (RM7.50).

Apom

The next day, I experimented with a ban jiang kuih recipe only to produce apom. I didn’t use lye water as suggested and added an extra egg.The recipe is a keeper as it made about 6 servings of fluffy apom. Nyam nyam!

Paddington - Lamb blintzes

Got myself a mobile voucher as well and treated my little sis to Paddington, again! We ordered lamb blintzes – slow cooked lamb cubes, fresh mint and mashed potatoes (RM18.50). Then it came in a square bowl half the usual size they serve, we were like “Uh?”. The portion is much much smaller than we are accustomed to. It came in two packets, like chinese medicinal package. Lol. The mutton which is cooked in a sweet tomato based sauce is very flavourful and tender whereas the mashed potato is to die for! Very delicious.

Paddington - Breakfast set

For the free pancake, we ordered the American pancakes with 3 toppings i.e. chipolatas (sausage), sunny side up and beef bacon (RM 16.50). Again it was served with the funny tasting brown gravy. The egg tastes geli but not a bad dish if minus these 2 things.

The bill was about RM30 with a glass of juice.

Economy fried noodle

By the end, broke liao. Eat economy fried noodle and

Tofu bakar

tauhu bakar ;D

Jelutong hawkers

But I highly recommend the keng chai mai fun from this hawker stall in Jelutong. This row of hawkers operate at night in front of the POS office, not the other hawker makeshift stalls located along the road parallel to it (where the Jelutong morning market is). Fried beehoon is incredibly light and tasty. The tom yam maggi has very nice tom yam flavour to it. I usually mix both on a plate. It’s a must have whenever I come back :P

*A new economy noodle stall has opened a few lots down. The original one is located beside a drink stall.

Actions

Information

14 responses

17 08 2007
jason

Hey, some positive stuff on Paddington huh? The burger looks fabulous.

17 08 2007
ginger

Thanks for dropping by at my blog!! I love your pics, very bright and clear!

I reckon the American pancake is the best although I have never try it before. Lol. I can never resist a good frried egg. LOL.

17 08 2007
Christine

I want those buggers! So long I didn’t have buggers dy! …. ur post is tempting me lots lots! so much cheese… hehe

17 08 2007
New Kid On The Blog

there are 2 economy bee hoon in jelutong hawker stall, which one are you referring to? 1 stall has chili padi ready (i think that’s the one that you mentioned, as she fried tom yam style too), the other do not provide chili padi. but then hor, i still like the one that nears the jelutong market, where they fried with lards… or another one in tmn free school….. that one also good!!

17 08 2007
lilian

Wuah, see your keng cheh bee hoon, I think I am going out to buy now. Hungryyy…

18 08 2007
Jian

haha u make me lau nua again….humongous lar….hehehe…i belum makan breakie : ( see all ur pancakes pula now…aiyooo….haha ur apam no corn paste?

18 08 2007
tonixe

I look forward to more of those food you take when u r ‘broke’ lah
if they are so gentle lke the rare gleaming tahu , yes ?

20 08 2007
coketai

Another famous item to recommend from the same spot is the Malay Burger Stall direct opposite the POS office, it is much more better than the MC burger hundred hundred time….but be carefule be prepare to wait for the queue.

LY.Tai

20 08 2007
durianberry

Jason – The food in Paddington is quite good but still need to improve on their slow service ;)

Ginger – Yup, American pancake’s the best so far. Fluffy texture and good eggy taste ^.^

Christine – Now that your exams are over, it’s time for some food crawling ^.^

New Kid On The Blog – This one doesn’t have cili padi ready by the side. It is next to (or just nearby) a drink stall. There are 2 stalls but if you are seated facing the stalls, this one is on your right and the other on your left. Hehe my sister studies in Heng Ee.. will go try Tmn Free School one someday. Is it inside the foodcourt?

Lilian – My parents used to bring us eat keng cheh bee hoon after 11 every Sat night after visiting my grandparents. I just tell myself it’s less calory inducing than mamak and keep the whole plate to myself

Jian – Ye ye… the beef taste la, it’s still registered in my serebelum. Anytime I think of it can lau nua :3~~ Purely brown sugar and crushed peanuts only.. apom Lousy style :P

Toxine – Ok, more poor man’s food coming up. I’m broke 3/4 of the time anyway :)

Coketai – Yup, I notice the long queue! I prefer Ramly burger to the MC or KING myself. It’s always Daging Special for me. Yummy!

21 08 2007
ai wei

whoa!!! you photos are very nice! just the simple economy noodles can be taken nice and tempting!!! and the burger is so cheezy!!! yummm

22 08 2007
New Kid On The Blog

Hi there, Tmn Free School Wanton Mee stall doesn’t parked in the food court. If you know the Tua Pek Kong, then you will see the stall. It’s manned by the brothers and an old lady whom is their sister.
Very nice if you eat with their sambal.

23 08 2007
durianberry

ai wei – Haha… thanks. The cheese was literally melted on the side and looks tempting :P

New Kid On The Blog – Wah sambal! Yum! Will try it out when I go back Pg :)

23 08 2007
Everyday Healy

First of all, why durian berry? Just curious cause first time here. I’m from Penang…. I think you’ve gone to the wrong place for great food! hehe…..

7 08 2008
Fortesfidelis

I have heard that the pancakes at Paddinton are good. Havent been there yet but your article certainly makes me want to go there this weekend. :)

Leave a Reply

