Soho Free House, Penang Road

23 11 2007

Soho Freehouse #1

I had lunch at Soho the other day after dad reckon they serve good traditional English pie. Soho is a pub at night but you can dine here for lunch and dinner. In the afternoon during weekdays, the place may get a bit crowded with office workers (lawyers and businessmen mostly).

Soho Freehouse #2

When we went there last weekend, we were surprisingly the only patrons besides a man who was already at the counter having his beer. Soon after, two men came in, followed by a family of foreigner. Business wasn’t brisk but all the better for us :P Food was served promptly and the waiter was attentive to our needs.

Soho Freehouse #3

The interior is very much like an old bar in an English countryside. All the furnitures are polished wood, the wooden floor of the deck creaks under our feet, the ceiling is wooden plank right down to the pillars are wood. I find myself scrutinizing every decoration in the place because none are essentially the same.

Soho Freehouse #5

Soho Freehouse #4

Empty liquor bottles line the wall shelf, retro looking Guiness posters and some other interesting brand logos are all over the place.

Steak & Tiger pie

In house specialty are old shepherd’s pie, fish & chips, home made burgers and chicken cordon bleu. Dad loves their Steak & Tiger pie so that was what he ordered. It’s chunks of beef marinated in Tiger beer topped with a puff pastry, with baked beans and fries on the side. Meanwhile, sis had their chicken & leek pie, which is chicken in a creamy white sauce also with a puff pastry baked to a crispy perfection. It’s served with green peas and fries on the side. You can request for jacket potato instead of fries.

Ploughman's Lunch

Mom wanted something light, so she ordered one of the Soho Quickies, Ploughman’s Lunch. The dish comprise of a french roll with a generous wedge of cheddar cheese, few sprigs of spring onion and pickled veg (since I can’t identify them, the menu writes – gherkin, radish, silver onion and red cabbage).

Sheperd's pie #1

I had their signature old style shepherd’s pie. It’s a classic British dish of minced meat in a secret highland sauce covered to the brim with mashed potato and baked, served with green peas and garden salad. The meat is your choice of lamb or chicken.

Sheperd's pie #2

I loved my pie! It’s very delicious especially the smell and taste of the lamb. However, I was wary whether they’ve used mutton because of the distinct flavour. Nonetheless, the meal was scrumptious to the last bite ^_^

The total amount came to about RM64. They also have spaghetti, steak, lamb chop, etc on their menu but their pies really are the best. There are an expansive selection of cocktails in their separate drinks menu including a lewdly named “slow comfortable screw against the wall” =D

Operating hour:
Open daily from 12pm to 12am

Location:
It can be easily spotted.. a bright purple building in Penang Road on your right.
No. 50, Penang Road, 10000 Penang
Tel: 604-263 3331 / 262 8331

Actions

Information

20 responses

23 11 2007
Jian

woa…it never occured to me to have lunch there…will go try someday…oh yeah and also green house for aussie food…lolz

23 11 2007
jason

I like the signboard at first sight. Very de English feel :)

24 11 2007
Big Boys Oven

I wish we have something like this in KL! Lovely, brings back some fond memories!

25 11 2007
Jian

thought got something like this in KL….called The Colliseum. Lookz very colonial….lolz

25 11 2007
jackson

the food looks good !! i wish im in Penang nw

27 11 2007
Cynthia

Hi There! Thanks for stopping by my blog and helping me to discover yours. I look forward to seeing you around.

27 11 2007
yammylisious*

look at the colourful liquor bar!! omg!! so nice!! woah everything here is so england! lolx!

27 11 2007
Christine

great captures..
omg.. I love the pie. Looks lovely ;P
another great discovery ^^

29 11 2007
Christy

Yeah!! I know this place too; been there for a dinner gathering..and they really serve good food despite their front as a pub:)
I liked their Grilled Blue Dory Fish which was the day’s special when i was there!!:)
Fun place to chill and hangout with friends;)

29 11 2007
Lingzie

oh i love the pies here! haven’t been in quite a while…must re-visit soon…!

30 11 2007
daphne

i love the way they used the fork to make patterns on the shepards pie! It’s something I have to try soon too.

1 12 2007
ai wei

lovely. feel as though you are in a western country.
i wan the pie!

5 12 2007
Nic (KHKL)

smacked right in town! nice! have not had a good shepherd’s pie in a long time. will try out this one, on a weekend, to avoid the crowd.

11 12 2007
Nicholas

I’ve been to Soho once, 7 years ago and I remembered I ate Fish and Chip there and it was nice. Haha. That time was my dad’s friend bring me there, my parents was not a fan of western food, so they didn’t bring me there for these times.

17 12 2007
Tummythoz

Really that good huh. Guess it’s really time for me to abandon 1 good meal at the hawkers to try this during my next visit.

11 07 2008
Fishball

it’s always crowded on weekend. I love their burger so much, beef patties is very juicy. love it!

** Sup kambing at Sup Hameed beside there is very nice as well

9 02 2009
TK USA

After giving my credit card to my waitress to be swiped, I noticed fraudulent charges on my statement that occurred weeks after I had left Malaysia. The first two were charged at JW CLOTHIER SB PENANG and the other at DE LIGHT ELECTRIC PENANG for nearly $500. I had no idea how this had happened but knew I had only used my card at one place, SOHO FREEHOUSE PENANG. Then I received one more charge, a small $20 charge from SOHO FREEHOUSE PENANG which confirmed what I thought to be true, that this was the place where the card was stolen. Again, these charges took place well after I was gone from Malaysia and they emptied my bank account, when they tried to use more, my bank, BANK OF AMERICA, froze my account and are now investigating this. I would not eat here, stay here, or at least DO NOT PAY for anyting here with a card.

9 02 2009
TK USA

After giving my credit card to my waitress to be swiped, I noticed fraudulent charges on my statement that occurred weeks after I had left Malaysia. The first two were charged at JW CLOTHIER SB PENANG and the other at DE LIGHT ELECTRIC PENANG for nearly $500. I had no idea how this had happened but knew I had only used my card at one place, SOHO FREEHOUSE PENANG. Then I received one more charge, a small $20 charge from SOHO FREEHOUSE PENANG which confirmed what I thought to be true, that this was the place where the card was stolen. Again, these charges took place well after I was gone from Malaysia and they emptied my bank account, when they tried to use more, my bank, BANK OF AMERICA, froze my account and are now investigating this. I would not eat here, stay here, or at least DO NOT PAY for anything here with a card.

13 06 2010
Sham

Well people.. thanx for the comments. Im the DJ in this place.. since 2003.. still here at this awesome place. For TK USA, Im sorry to hear bout the fraud case but im sure it might have been some irresponsible person who did this and im very sure he is not workin here anymore. On behalf of Soho Free House.., Id like to apologize to you for the inconvenience caused to you. we deeply regret the incident. Thank you n have a nice day..

13 12 2011
kl

We ordered a bottle of whisky here and immeadiately knew that it was fake once we had the first sip. The manager just refused to acknowledge this even after we let him taste it. He just said he will speak to the supplier. Never offered a refund or apology. Looked like a decent place but never thought would end being cheated. Never again!

Leave a Reply

