Chinese New Year ’08

12 02 2008

Sorry I’ve been MIA for so long. I was caught up in a lot of school work and tests before balik kampung for CNY :)

I hope everyone had a good Chinese New Year, celebrating the festive season with your family, distant relatives and friends. Chinese New Year is also a celebration of delicious food together with loved ones! Here are the foods I enjoyed throughout this week of indulgence :b

Reunion 1 - Song Tam

Som tham – Thai salad of green papaya. One of the dishes I had at reunion dinner with my godpa and godmom. Rice Restaurant, 1926 Heritage Hotel, Burmah Road.

Reunion 2 - Cod fish

Steamed cod fish in soy sauce. Reunion dinner with grandpa, aunts, uncles and cousins at Starview Restaurant, Burmah Road.

CNY Eve

Lunch

Lunch at home with mom, dad and sis.

Lunch - abalone & mushroom

Canned abalone (blek) and thick mushroom (yummy!). Mom made the stock one day earlier before adding other ingredients. The stock had dried scallops and mussels. Then mom added star anise to follow restaurant style. Great job! I must say it is very delicious.

Dinner - curry chicken

Curry chicken and

Dinner - meat dumpling

Sui kow which dad ordered. Mom par boiled it in clear soup, for dinner.

CNY Day 1

This is my most look-forward-to meal every Chinese New Year. My close aunts and uncles, and cousins get together for dinner at grandpa’s house after visiting extended families in the afternoon.

Reunion 3 - sea cucumber

My fav – sea cucumber and mushroom with broccoli

Reunion 3 - prawns

My fav but lazy to peel – big prawns coated in sweet & sour sauce

Reunion 3 - steamed chicken

My least fav – steamed chicken ;D

Reunion 3 - soup

Grandpa’s must have – soup with mussels, pak ko (lotus seeds) and beancurd sheets. No fatt choy (dried black sea moss) this year because grandpa was too late to buy. Hehe.

Reunion 3

I had a wonderful Chinese New Year with family. Loads of cookies, angpow and laughter. Sadly all has to come to an end. I have to head back to uni tomorrow and I have skipped two days of classes. Heehee

I wish everyone happy feasting and may the new year be a prosperous one with plenty of joy and happiness!

Actions

Information

6 responses

14 02 2008
jason

Nice spread of CNY dishes. The cod fish… I could almost taste it with my eyes :P
Happy CNY to you!

15 02 2008
Jian

huiyoh banyak nye…dun think i ate that much also….had 2 days of maggi mee meals because hawkers no buka >,<

16 02 2008
Cynthia

What a spread you had! Glad to hear it was enjoyable.

19 02 2008
New Kid On The Blog

Is Starview open on CNY eve??

28 02 2008
wmw

Hey there…Belated Gong Xi Fa Chai to you! CNY over …still on holiday :o)?

1 03 2008
durianberry

Jason – The cod fish was really smooth and melts in the mouth!

Jian – Haha. If you had to balik kampung, must be feasting until non-stop instead

Cynthia – TQ!

NKoTB – I’m not sure. We had the dinner at Starview a week before CNY :)

wmw – Belated CNY! Came back to uni with loads of assignment, so no time to update ;(

Leave a Reply

