Easter & Egg Tarts

22 03 2008

I grew up learning Easter Sunday is the day of the resurrection of Christ Jesus. How does it come to that Easter Day becomes a celebration involving painted egg and bunny?

Apparently the symbol of the bunny originated with the pagan festival of Eastre. The goddess, Eastre, was worshipped by the Anglo-Saxons through her earthly symbol, the rabbit. (Well, it doesn’t sound like it will sit well with Christian beliefs!) Hence like many other Christian religion celebrations, Easter extends beyond the church and has become commercially important. Therefore you see bunnies holding a basket filled with chocolate Easter eggs has become some sort a significance during this time.

John King egg tarts #4

So, I celebrate with my readers one of the most ubiquitious food to Malaysian involving egg which non other than.. egg tarts! Anyone walking by Food Republic in The Pavilion KL has probably been tempted by John King’s unique offer of flavours of egg tarts.

John King egg tarts #3

Pictured here are the milk egg tart, durian egg tart & 2 regular egg tarts. I stole a bite of my sis’s milk egg tart and it has a strong milky taste. The custard is soft as silk. Very delicious!

John King egg tarts #2

I had the durian egg tart, which uses real durian paste. Yummy~ Their pastry case is flaky but I think not as good as Tong Kee’s in terms of taste.

John King egg tarts #1

They also have selections of mini pies and siew pows. Originating from Hong Kong, this is their first branch in Malaysia and another branch is coming up at 1Utama.

Happy Easter! {=^.^=}

John King pastry at
Food Republic, Level 1, Pavilion KL
Open daily from 10.30am to 10pm

Actions

Information

8 responses

22 03 2008
what2see

wow.. those egg tarts sure looks delicious, wish they will open up one outlet in pg soon. Can ‘tah pau’ some on yr trip back????

23 03 2008
jason

Ah, you just reminded me to post this up :P

24 03 2008
wmw

Still haven’t gotten around to trying it though I pass this place in 1U many times.

24 03 2008
Christine

yea… passed by quite a number of times, but I still haven’t try them ;P
I should remind myself to do so the next time :)

24 03 2008
Simon Seow

I saw one outlet in 1 Utama LG Old Wing.

26 03 2008
durianberry

what2see – Haha ok! If my mode of transport back to Pg permits, i will try to tar pao some back

Jason – Hehe. Did you try other snacks there besides the tarts?

wmw – Oh thanks for the heads up. I didn’t know it’s open already.. I’m a bit outdate :P I’ll edit my post asap

Christine – I haven’t try all the flavours yet.. Must return for more :D

Simon Seow – I didn’t know it’s available there already. See only? Didn’t try ah.. hehe :)

26 03 2008
Nic (KHKL)

incidentally, i visited the pavilion branch on good friday..hehe…the double-boiled milk tart was good! the egg tart was so-so for me..hehe…

29 03 2008
Gen-Y Tarts « Ipoh Mali Talak Sombong!

[…] The Gastronomical Diary […]

Leave a Reply

