Weekend in Malacca #2

27 07 2008

At night, we were brought to a Chinese restaurant that seems to be popular among the locals. We decided to order seafood dishes. The other tables mainly had simple tai chow but we shall see how the seafood fares.

black pepper crab

Black pepper crab was really spicy. I’ve never tried this style before, it was surprisingly good.

salted egg crab

With this salted egg crab dish, I can taste the freshness of the crab. There are bits of salted egg yolk clinging to the sweet crab meat. It was delicious~ But having tried other restaurant’s exact same dish, this was just ok in comparison.

tofu

I love the tofu dish. The sourness of plum sauce and the refreshing cucumber strips paired with the fried tofu cubes are really good.

squid rings

Another one of my favourite dish. Deep fried squid rings. The batter was light and the squid has a q-q biting resistance. Something was amiss with the seasoning though, but I could look pass it ;)

prawns

The L-sized prawns are fresh and fried in some sort of egg-y batter (I’m not too sure). I wish there weren’t so much black bits on the shells but it was delicious nonetheless. We also had an Assam fish. The picture was too blurry I couldn’t make out what it is ;D It was, again, very fresh and lived up to expectation. The total came close to about RM500 for 2 tables.

map

Ji Xiang Restaurant
Opening hours: 12pm-3pm & 6pm-12am
No. 54, Jln Portugis, Kampung Hulu,
75200 Melaka

shop

The next morning, we head to a dim sum shop opposite Kampong Kling Mosque located a few blocks away from Masjid Kampung Hulu. It is located at Jalan Tukang Besi, near to the intersection with Jalan Hang Lekiu. Jalan Masjid, nearby the Chinese restaurant we had dinner the night before.

price

Prices

tray

A tray of steamed dim sum.

spread

Our spread. Mwaah~ :D~

fried radish

This is my favourite – loh bak gou (radish cake). I just love the texture of the smooth interior.

siu mai #1

Beautifully presented siu mai. I don’t know what’s the pink pearl thingy.. I can’t distinguish it.

siu mai #2

Overall, we paid RM10 per person. We definitely over-ordered because the other table (we split to 2 tables) only had RM5 each! But most of the dim sums were good and I had a bloated happy tummy afterwards.

Actions

Information

15 responses

27 07 2008
christine

wow..how come i din came across this crabby place when i go Malacca..but i pretty get my stomach packed when i’m in Malacca..with all the foodie..its really a good way to travel..FUN!!

27 07 2008
Christy

WOW…that’s an amazing gastronomic fill in Malacca…lots of seafood and dimsum!!
I haven’t try those out either when I was in Malacca…thanks for your recommendation!

28 07 2008
550ml jar of faith

Would the pink pearls on the siu mai be some kind of roe? Can’t get enough of the Melaka posts… hope there’re more coming! :-P

28 07 2008
Jackson Kah

wow… u remind me on my Malacca trip!! So much good food!

28 07 2008
buzzingbee

reminds me about the times in Malacca last time. But never had the chance to try out the seafood/crabs. Great food trip huh!!!

29 07 2008
squall

so miss melaka food~~

29 07 2008
jason

I might be going there in Aug. ^^

31 07 2008
Jian

aiyer so fun and so much food!!!!

1 08 2008
J2Kfm

Melaka is a small town, brimming with good food, and bustling with people and activities. If only I had started taking photos of what I ate last time …
Now remain as memories only … jason, BRING ME ALSO!!! =P

2 08 2008
Cynthia

Ouuuu, I would give anything to have some of that crab.

3 08 2008
Criz Lai

Hmm… I had eaten black pepper crab before minus the salted eggs. The dish looked delicious to me.

http://crizfood.blogspot.com/

9 08 2008
QuaChee

oh ive been to these shops. the dim sum sure is popoular heh. yr close up on the food makes me hungry.. maybe ill go to the dim sum this few days! hehe

20 05 2009
lynn

hi can tell me how much is the crap per kg?

13 09 2009
genice

hi erm do you know of any hotels near this place? mind recomending?

2 09 2010
Shirley

Hi,

Can gv me this dim sum restoran address?

Leave a Reply

