Rak Thai @ The Gardens Midvalley

10 08 2008

cashier

Rak Thai serves some trully delicious and authenthic Thai food at affordable prices. It is located on the ground floor of The Gardens, just beside SBread. The restaurant shows Thai influence in the interior and it is spacious enough for roller skating within.

interior

At the front there are some cosy low sitting rattan sofas if you can eat with your body bend at an angle. Or you can just sit at the hard wooden chair at normal height. Packets of instant noodle and other Thai-related prepacked foods are displayed in front as well as in one corner, and I presume they are also for sale.

But I’m here for cooked food! Check the menu here and here. I photographed them for future reference ^o^

ice lemon tea & pandan lemongrass

Iced lemon tea and Pandan lemongrass. My Pandan lemongrass is ordered warm because I had cough. It is a very nice drink! Reminds me of tong yuen but with the extra infusion of fragant lemongrass. Gives me an idea when boiling syrup for tong yuen next time!

tom yam kung

Both my friends ordered Tom Yum Kung Seafood. When it came, boy, were we surprised it is clear! I’ve been wanting to try this version. It is heavily flavoured with galangal, lemongrass and kaffir lime leaves. A taste of the soup is enough to send me to happyland! ^.^ I love the sourness and spicyness combined with the flavour of the natural ingredients. All of us are smitten by how good it is ;D

green curry

Next up, my Green Curry Seafood. My friend was raving about this before coming, I had to order this despite having just recovered from fever. Another bowl of yumminess! The taste is heavily infused with Thai basil and coconut milk, with loads of the leaves inside and a few pieces of squid rings, fish paste and crabstick. Too bad about the layer of oil. Icks me out :P I felt so jelak at the end.

Overall, I like the way they prepare their food. Using real ingredients and the taste is as close to the original as possible.

Actions

Information

11 responses

11 08 2008
wmw

This outlet looks “higher” class than the one in Amcorp Mall.

11 08 2008
jason

Never actually walk in probably because of the lack of patrons…. :)

11 08 2008
550ml jar of faith

Ooh very nice! Thanks for this! Now that I’m working in the area, I have been totally uninspired by the lunch options up until I saw this post. Clear tomyum soup, here I come!

12 08 2008
ck lam

I like the clear tomyum. Since I have tasted it in Ghee Seng (Pg), I always stick to it when ever I order tomyum.
Rak Thai sure is a nice and spacious restaurant especially so in The Gardens when the rental is so high.

12 08 2008
christine

i heard that their thai food was not bad..i wanted to the clear tom yam..as they said it the authentic thai style tomyam..so have you finish your test 1? maybe we should go out for some food..

13 08 2008
backstreetgluttons

original Thai food has great attacking multi flavors and the pixs are quite unlike the strong colors we normally see.

( even the green is not so green LOL ! )

if only you can laced your post with some aroma and tastes of what you have enjoyed
( for us too )

13 08 2008
J2Kfm

the clear tomyam is indeed as flavourful (if not more) than the usual fiery red version. but the lack of prawns (measly 2) somewhat left us feeling short-changed. but the other dishes are equally delicious, and the crowd was a clear indication of its increasing popularity, and value-for-money food.

13 08 2008
durianberry

wmw – I’ve only been to Amcorp Mall once.. didn’t notice there is Rak Thai there. Hehe probably cuz this branch is in The Gardens

jason – I was there around tea time for a late lunch. The place is quite filled :)

550ml jar of faith – You are working in this area? How long will you be in KL? We can meet up sometime, I hang out in this area.. lol

ck lam – :O I’m happy to know there’s clear tom yum in Pg too. I know Rice Restaurant at Burmah Rd has that version but haven’t try yet

christine – Ya it is the authentic Thai style without using chili paste. Test 1 still on-going until next Wed (W7 ah!). How about yours? I definitely want to go eat happy happy after that! ^.^

bsg – Hehe the dim lighting tainted the photos with yellow. Green + yellow = blue!

J2Kfm – I have to agree the meat is a bit on the skimpy side. It was loaded with ingredients to flavour the soup, but they are not quite edible ;)

14 08 2008
christine

walau..so long ur test 1..mine is only until 15 august..haha..best of luck then..me too wanted to go for nice food after that..its a compliment to our hard work huh..stil haven finish exploring Serdang..haven even tried the lat tong yet..lame me

17 08 2008
durianberry

christine – Hehe yes, i agree, we must give ourselves a reward after all the midnight oil-burning :) Me neither! I haven’t tried all the hakka foods yet and also the fish head noodle

8 09 2008
Rak Thai, The Gardens Midvalley « she, the epicuriousgirl.

[…] reviews; – three meals of goodness – the gastronomic diary – motormouth from ipoh – after […]

Leave a Reply

