Blue Moon

13 09 2008

Sorry for abandoning this blog for so long. There’s been loads of tests and assignments, plus the dorm internet connection is just lousy. Sites like google, yahoo and flickr wouldn’t load at all (DNS server problem??). Then I resort to using proxies which solves the problem temporary but it’s kinda slow. uSpot (our uni’s wifi provider) really sucks.

bluemoon1

I had the opportunity to try this Blue Moon snow skin mooncake by Chyna, Hilton KL. The lotus and Amaretto paste enclosing the Blueberry Cheese Fenillantine in the center is wrapped with a layer of blue snow skin.

bluemoon2

The outer layer was simply soft yet gives a very slight chewy sensation. The combination layers of blueberry filling, cream cheese and amaretto paste simply shouts cheesecake! but the additional layer of lotus paste brings you back to hey, it’s mooncake ^.^ The flavour and texture of the snow skin is excellent. The tangy cheese and sweet lotus is well balanced. Unfortunately I couldn’t really taste the amaretto. For the price RM13.60 per piece (and the size is smaller than regular mooncakes), it’s really satisfaction fulfilled. Yum~


Actions

Information

14 responses

13 09 2008
PenangTuaPui

hmm… about mooncake, I am happy as my family in law never like the mooncake.. else every year i need to spend a lot of $$ on mooncake… hee hee

but this blue moon looks so nice….

13 09 2008
Christy

Woww…..exquisite mooncake!~:)

13 09 2008
CK Lam

A special combination taste of the chinese mooncake with the western filling. Lucky for you, getting to eat it…

14 09 2008
buzzingbee

cheesecakeeee…..opps…cheese Mooncake! Never knew cream cheese and mooncake can go together. Looks very nice :)

14 09 2008
Jackson Kah

wow…this mooncake looks good!

15 09 2008
kampungboycitygal

it looks good..my fave mooncake is from those from shangrila..rich but not too sweet

16 09 2008
sc

though this looks beautiful and dreamy.. i’m still old skool of lotus paste and single yolk :)

17 09 2008
jason

Wah, looks good!

17 09 2008
ArchiCook

Hi Durian Berry! Thanks for adding me to your list, I’ve added you as well! The blue moon looks really nice, wish I could try it! Too bad the Hilton in Sydney does not have it… =( I’ll have to go back to KL to find it, but I doubt they’ll have it when I go back anyway… =( Have you got the recipe by any chance? lol

19 09 2008
Precious Pea

I heard ravings about this mooncake..sigh..next year i guess.

21 09 2008
malhandsome

dear friend,

do u’ve BBQ LAND & STEAMBOAT BUFFET KUANG’s phone no at SG BULOH, SELANGOR @ been there? some said d price just below rm20/pax!

regards,

mal handsome

plz sms me +60128624623 or
email 2 sronoknya@gmail.com

23 09 2008
wmw

I like their creation….nice!

24 09 2008
Cynthia

I love your blue mooncake!

26 09 2008
durianberry

PenangTuaPui – wah lucky! Especially moon cakes are so expensive these days. I prefer buying for myself to eat.. haha

Christy, CK, Jackson, Jason – Yup it’s pretty special. Each year we get more variety of flavours in moon cakes

buzzingbee – yeah it’s quite an interesting combination but we have tiramisu moon cake everywhere now! Lol

kampungboycitygal – From Shangrila? I’ve not tried that yet. Next year! :D

sc – I love the simple moon cakes with mung bean! But I don’t moon cakes with egg yolk :P

ArchiCook – It might be back by demand. Who knows? Hehe. Sad to say I don’t have the recipe. If you get your hands on the recipe, remember to make and deliver one for me!

Precious Pea – Yes there’s next year, and the next, and next… Don’t worry :P

wmw, Cynthia – It’s quite attractive due to the blue colour :) I just want to grab it when I saw it lol

Leave a comment