Nuts With Donuts

15 03 2008

Once upon a time, when I was a murid sekolah, me and mom used to frequent the bakery at Cosmart in Bukit Jambul shopping mall after 9.30pm for the end-of-day offer. I will make sure she includes the doughtnuts on the tray which is only RM1 for 5. Sometimes, I choose the classic one with the hole, but often times I prefer the round and small ones hold together with a satay stick. The next day in school, all boring classes are forgotten when I munch on the soft, sugar coated buns during the 10.10am break n_n

Mom never fails to shake off the excess sugar on the doughnuts, leaving me with a sulking face. Of course, I am grateful now that she did ;D But with these Gen-X breed of doughnuts, all moms can no longer do that. Ahh yes, they are glazed.

J.Co #4

Nevertheless, worry not, moms. Most of them are not sweet. That is what I like about the doughtnuts at J.Co. Since everywhere refers to them as donuts and it is much shorter to type, I will call doughnuts donuts from now on.

J.Co #1

Everybody is crazy over J.Co~ I lined up for 20 minutes before my turn to pick and point to the donuts I wanted. The aroma of the donuts is so captivating~ I notice the same aroma at Big Apple Donuts as well, but never at Dunkin Donuts :b Perhaps it has to do with the specially imported premix flour from the US to make these wonderful soft donuts.

J.Co #2

Eek! Looks like milking action :P Hee~ This is how they fill chocolate cream into the naked donuts. Poke the donuts and poosh! In less than 1 sec, 2 donuts are ready to be glazed with whatever flavour they belong to.

J.Co #3

While being so near, yet so far, I enjoyed watching the production line from here and still trying to decide the top 6 donuts going into my mouth.

J.Co: Heaven Berry

The moment fresh donuts are placed on the pretty glass trays, in a split second they are gone into 1/2 or 1 dozens boxes. These cute swirly pink ones are not so popular though..

Having not been here before nor read floggers’ recommendation (big regret!), I based my order on snooping at customers’ picks and accidental eavesdropping on the lady behind me. Heehee ^o^

J.Co: Berry Blue

Berry blue – not a good choice. The blueberry jam in the middle is too sweet.

J.Co: Al-Caponne

Al Caponne – the most popular choice at J Co. I can understand why! The almond flakes are so crunchy! The creamy Belgian white chocolate underneath provides just a hint of sweetness to balance it all off. Delicious pairing~

J.Co: Cheese Me Up

Cheese Me Up – you definitely did! It’s a savoury donut with melted NZ cheese and bits of herb and more cheese! n.n

J.Co: Jacky Chunk

Jacky Chunk – covered in chocolate, and rolled in chunks of peanut. Not related to Jacky Chan. Its yumminess is a family of its own.

J.Co: Miss Green T

Miss Green T – bursting with real matcha flavour! I love this second to Mr Almond!

J.Co: mochino

Don Mochino – chocolate cream filled donut with more chocolate glaze and a touch of hearts, latte-art style. The cream tend to be a bit sweet, but the glaze was a delicious mocha flavour. *hearts* ^.^

J.Co: machiato

A cup of machiato. Nothing extraordinary, but there are vanilla and cocoa powder near the counter which you can dust to your heart’s content :> I have a little too much fun with cocoa powder.. Every order of drinks come with a free glazzy donut.

J.Co #5

1/2 dozen donuts – RM 10.95
Machiato + special brew of the day (Sumatera coffee) – RM11.90
Total – RM22.85

They only charge 5% gov tax. No service tax.